Nevada is one of the worst-ranked states for instances of domestic violence. In Las Vegas, there are some of the highest rates of homicides related to domestic issues. With so many tourists visiting, people drinking and partying, and the sheer amount of nightlife happening, the city is a hot spot for violence between intimate partners. When a violent incident occurs, offenders need to know what to do next. Here is a guide for anyone charged with this crime, including how to find bail bonds in Las Vegas.
Domestic Violence Defined
First, it’s important to understand what constitutes domestic violence and what offenses are criminal and in need of bail bonds in Las Vegas. According to Nevada state law, battery, assault, sexual assault, some types of coercion, false imprisonment, stalking, harassment, arson, trespassing, pandering, larceny, destruction of property, home invasion, burglary and carrying a concealed weapon without a permit may be offenses.
To be categorized as a domestic offense, the acts must have been carried out against a spouse, domestic partner, former spouse, child or relative by blood or marriage. Additionally, someone the offender had a dating relationship with or shares a child with can also be a domestic victim. If you commit a violent offense against someone in your life, you may be charged with a crime and need a bondsman’s help.
One way that victims can get protection from an offender is to file a protective order or restraining order with the local court. In Nevada, a victim can file a protective order for domestic violence. There are two types of protective orders in the state, temporary orders that last for approximately 45 days and extended orders, which can last for up to one year.
Protective orders are generally civil matters and don’t typically involve the criminal court of Las Vegas. They can turn into criminal offenses if the subject of the order violates it. If you violate a temporary protective order, you could be arrested and charged with a misdemeanor, with up to six months in jail and a $1,000 fine. For extended protective orders, repeated violations could result in a felony charge. Violators are arrested and need to find bail bonds in Las Vegas right away.
Domestic battery is a serious offense in Nevada that could result in criminal charges and an arrest. This may also be termed domestic abuse. There are several acts that are considered domestic battery. Depending on the act and the severity, there may be a misdemeanor or felony charge. An individual could be immediately arrested and need bail bonds in Las Vegas for these offenses.
To be considered criminal domestic battery, the act must be intentional, unlawful physical force. It also has to be between two people that have a domestic relationship. The physical force the offender commits against the victim does not have to result in an injury in order to be considered criminal.
Types of Battery
There are many different types of actions that are considered battery. Generally, battery is any action that is the result of physical force. Battery is when someone touches another person unlawfully and aggressively. It also has to be done on purpose.
Some examples of battery that are typically involved in domestic abuse cases may include punching, hitting, slapping, biting, kicking, choking, shoving, pushing, spitting, cutting or crushing. Additionally, indirect physical force, such as using a weapon or bludgeon to hurt someone, can also be battery. Spilling a drink or dropping something on someone may also be defined as battery.
If someone is arrested for domestic battery, there could be different charges filed against them. One of the most serious types of domestic battery is strangulation. Offenders who are arrested for domestic abuse by strangulation may be charged with a category C felony.
For this type of charge, it’s imperative to contact someone experienced with bail bonds in Las Vegas. The penalties for this type of felony may include one to five years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines. Offenders may be charged with this crime even if there was no injury and the strangulation was brief.
For other types of domestic battery and offenses, first-time offenders are usually arrested and charged with a misdemeanor. If the charges result in a conviction, the individual could be directed to attend domestic violence counseling, pay up to $1,000 in fines, do community service or serve no more than six months in prison.
In a seven-year period, if an offender commits another domestic crime, the charges can be more serious. The individual may be charged with another misdemeanor and get more jail time and fines. Second offenses get a minimum of 20 days in jail. For a third offense in the seven-year time period, offenders may be charged with a category B felony. This is much more serious and can result in up to six years in prison.
Situations for Harsher Penalties
Domestic battery also may result in stiffer penalties for certain situations. If certain factors are present, an individual may be automatically charged with a category B felony, even if it’s a first offense. Any type of domestic battery that is committed with a deadly weapon, such as a gun or a knife, is an instant felony charge. Additionally, any battery that ends up severely injuring the other person may result in a felony charge.
Domestic battery cases may also be more severe if the victim is pregnant. If the offender knows about the pregnancy and commits domestic abuse, there could be a gross misdemeanor charge. For additional offenses against a pregnant victim, the charges increase to category B felonies. This may mean up to six years in prison and significant fines.
Getting arrested and charged with domestic violence is serious. It’s essential to find bail bonds in Las Vegas to help you with your legal trouble. Lightning Bail is there for people who are charged with this crime and can help navigate the bail bonds system in the city.